Chakras And Flowers

How do you connect chakras, the energy centres of the body in Eastern tradition, and flowers, pretty, ephemeral, bright, cheerful manifestations of nature?

…by way of color therapy.. yoga energy balancing techniques…meditation… and a simple way of making yourself feel better and reenergized even if you don’t really believe in any of the above.


There are seven main chakras (as well as several others) in a line from the base of the spine to the crown of the head and one more newly recognised chakra just above the head which I believe is important. Each one is associated with various areas of physical, emotional and spiritual well-being. When the energy flow in one becomes blocked it can result in certain symptoms and vice versa. By keeping the chakras open and the energy flowing, we can maximise our body’s ability to keep well and heal itself.


One way of stimulating energy flow is by a simple visualisation. Each chakra has a colour of the spectrum linked to it. Focus on that colour and imagine that colour light pouring into the chakra and saturating it in pure coloured light, then visualise the chakra as a spinning disc of colour. Take 2 or 3 deep breaths as you do so. You can also repeat a mantra or affirmation to intensify the positive energy you are creating. Work through each chakra (see below for summary) in turn from Root to Crown to rebalance your whole energy level.


So what about the flowers? Whatever you use to visualise the colour would work, paint swatches, coloured stones or crystals, an image in your minds eye, but beautiful photographs of flowers saturated in the pure colour of each chakra can bring some extra flower energy into your life as well.


Flowers raise the vibrational energy around them, which is why they have long been associated with celebrations, brought as presents to new mothers, sick people, loved ones. Weddings and funerals are lavish with them. We are rarely aware of the spiritual connection these days, we just know that flowers cheer people up and make them feel glad. So flower photos as visualisation aids make sense and are beautiful to have around. has a whole section devoted to chakra flower photos.


There are books written about the chakras going into far more detail than there is space for here, as it is a deep and complex subject, with infinite, individual interpretations, but here is a basic, brief summary of the chakras and their associated areas and colours.

  1. Root – Red
    Situated at the base of the spine.
    Emotional grounding and ones roots. The excretory and reproductive systems and the immune system.
    Mantra “I am in touch with the earth, my roots”
  2. Sacral – Orange
    A hands breadth down from the belly button.
    Sexuality, creativity, financial issues, honour and ethics, one to one relationships.
    Genital and urinary systems, bladder and prostate.
    Mantra “I am a creative, sexual being”
  3. Solar Plexus – Yellow
    Over the solar plexus at the bottom of the rib cage.
    Self-esteem, self-confidence and how you see yourself.
    Digestive system, worries and fears, the stress of responsibility.
    Mantra “I believe in myself”
  4. Heart – Green
    Over the heart.
    Love, forgiveness, unconditional love. Relationships.
    Circulatory and immune systems. Heart and lungs. Loneliness.
    Mantra “I can give and receive love”
  5. Throat – Blue
    Centre of the throat
    Communication, self-expression and will power.
    Thyroid problems, sore throats, addictions(due to lack of will)
    Mantra “I speak my truth”
  6. Brow – Indigo
    Centre of forehead
    Intuition, intellect and mind, inner vision.
    Brain and nervous system, eye problems.
    Mantra “I see clearly”
  7. Crown – Violet
    Top of head.
    Spiritual awakening, search for meaning. Our relationship to our spirit and God.
    Central nervous system, overwhelming fatigue.
    Mantra “I believe”
  8. Soul star – White/crystal
    Directly above the crown, about two hand’s breadths from the head
    Awareness of ones soul and its connection to the conscious self.
    Gives perspective on life and ability to see seemingly random positive or negative events as part of the soul’s journey.
    Mantra “I transcend”

This is a personal, simplified interpretation of the chakras. Use it as a stepping stone to finding out more for yourself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: